SP Commends Iloilo City Anti-Smoking Task Force

During its 20th Regular Session held last June 06, 2012, the Sangguniang Panlungsod of Iloilo passed Resolution No. 2012-592, “A resolution commending Iloilo City Anti-Smoking Task Force (ICAST) and other support agencies for making Iloilo City Government a recipient of the 2012 Red Orchid Award.”

As Chairman of the Iloilo City Anti-Smoking Task Force (ICAST), Hon. Joshua C. Alim presented to the body the Certificate of Recognition and the trophy given to the City Government as a Red Orchid Awardee.

The Red Orchid Award is being given by the Department of Health (DOH) as recognition to cities, municipalities, government offices and health facilities that are strictly enforcing tobacco control measures.

The winners are chosen on the strength of their comprehensive efforts to implement a 100% Tobacco-Free Environment following the World Health Organization’s “MPOWER” initiative.

MPOWER is an acronym that denotes the six proven tobacco control policies, namely: Monitor tobacco use and prevention policies; Protect people from tobacco smoke; Offer help to quit tobacco use; Warn against the dangers of tobacco; Enforce bans on tobacco advertising; and Raise taxes on tobacco.

The DOH Red Orchid Awards is composed of members from the DOH, World Health Organization, Civil Service Commission, Philippine Ambulatory Pediatric Association, Inc. (PAPA) and the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control Alliance Philippines (FCAP).

The City Government of Iloilo, headed by its City Mayor, Hon. Jed Patrick E. Mabilog, together with Hon. Joshua C. Alim, and City Health Officer, Dr. Urminico Baronda, received the Certificate of Recognition from the Department of Health last May 29, 2012 held at the Philippine Trade Training Center in Pasay City.

Resolution 2012-592 was sponsored by Councilor Lyndon V. Acap, as Chairman of the Committe on Health, Sanitation and Hospital Services, and was seconded by Councilors Jason R. Gonzales, Ely A. Estante, Jr. and Rodel F. Agado, with City Vice Mayor, Hon. Jose S. Espinosa III, presiding.